December 11, 2010

Nearly 1,000 more MBBS seats in Karnataka from next year

There's good news for aspiring doctors taking next year's Common Entrance Test (CET). The medical education department has given its nod to add 930 MBBS seats in nine colleges across the state starting 2011-12. Two government medical colleges — Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute — will add 150 seats next year and 100 more for Bellary-based Vijayanagara Institute of Medical Sciences.

"I have issued essentiality certificates to increase intake by 930 seats so far. Even in case of deemed universities, we have asked them to surrender 25% seats for government quota," medical education minister S A Ramadas told STOI. The Medical Council of India will take a final call.

Other institutions where an increase has been recommended include Rajarajeshwari Medical College, Bangalore (150); K S Hedge Medical Academy, Mangalore (50); Srinivasa Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre, Suratkal (150); Yenepoya Medical College, Mangalore (100); Navodaya Medical College, Raichur (100); Kempegowda Institute of Medical Sciences, Bangalore (80); Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum (50).

Currently, Karnataka has 10 government colleges with a combined intake of 1,100. In all, there are 39 institutions offering a total of 4,855 MBBS seats.

Link: Original Article

No comments:



Related Posts with Thumbnails