July 03, 2008

B.C. Roy awards for 55 doctors

President Pratibha Patil presented the B.C. Roy National Awards for Medicine to eminent doctors at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Tuesday. The doctors were felicitated for their contribution to medical research, teaching and development of specialities in various branches of medicine.

The awards for 2005, 2006 and 2007 were given to 55 doctors for their contribution to various medical disciplines, including psychiatry, gastroenterology, oncology, urology and cardiology.

Some of the eminent doctors who received the awards include cardiologists Naresh Trehan and K.K. Agrawal, gastroenterologist Ajay Kumar of Apollo hospital, AIIMS endocrinologist Anoop Misra and oncologist Lalit Kumar.

Dr. S.M. Balaji, the maxillofacial surgeon from Chennai, was among the recipients.

Dr. Rayapu Ramesh Babu, Dr. P. K. Bilwani and Dr. Prakash B. Behere were honoured with the award for their contribution to socio-medical relief. For their contribution to medical research, Prof. P. Varalakshmi, Dr. R.K. Dhiman and Dr. S.R. Mittal were awarded.

Dr. Anupam Sachdeva received it for his research in medicine and allied sciences.

Dr. Alka Kriplani, Dr. A.K. Mahapatra, Dr. Drupad Nautamlal Chhatrapati and Dr. Ganesh Gopalakrishnan were honoured with the award for medical teaching

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

NONSENSE!! these awards are definitely not something to be proud of this year, most of the doctors who have recieved it, are definitely the ones that reduce the value and stature of this award.
if dr kk agarwal, some dr alka kreplani and dr ajay kumar can get them, anybody can. I mean who are they??, self glamorising businessmen, somewhere related to politicians, or good load of money or no self respect to get these awards, when they dont match with capabilities!!?



Related Posts with Thumbnails